Welcome!
Welcome to the Marin Software Support Center. We're glad you're here. Here's what you can look forward to:
  • Real-time search so you can find what you need faster than ever.
  • Easy-to-follow video guides for our most popular articles.
  • Interactive simulations and Live Screenshots to make learning easy.
  • Regular content updates to ensure every word you read is accurate and up-to-date.

Search Publishers

Home > English > Search Publishers > Google > How To Articles: Google > Google Remarketing

Google Remarketing

Introduction

The Platform has a feature which allows you to take advantage of Google's remarketing (or retargeting) functionality for Search campaigns.

With this feature, you are able to achieve the following via the Platform:

  • Add, remove, or edit remarketing lists via bulk upload at the group level.
  • Optimize your search campaigns (RLSAs) at the keyword level.
  • View cost metrics at the campaign, group, keyword and creative level.

If you would like to take advantage of this feature, please contact a member of our Support Team. Once this feature has been enabled, you will see the Audiences tab visible in your account.

Note: the creation of remarketing lists is carried out on the publisher's end and synced to the application. You cannot create remarketing lists within the Platform at this time. The application will only sync in Google remarketing lists when they're applied at the group level 

 

Audiences Tab - Current App.PNG

 

Important note: When using the Platform to assign remarketing lists to Google groups, note that if the group does not have a Target setting, it will automatically be set to Target & Bid. This is mostly applicable when you are assigning a list to a group that has never had remarketing lists associated to it. This is important to know, as it can cause a drop in traffic.

How to assign a remarketing list

We recommend that you copy existing campaigns or groups to a new campaign. The reason for this is you can then assign a remarketing list to the relevant groups and use a Target and Bid strategy.

Note: Remarketing lists should be assigned at the group level, not the campaign level. 

To add a remarketing list for one of your Google Search campaigns, simply follow these steps:

  1. Create a copy of the campaign you'd like to use with remarketing with the Platform's Copy Tool. For more information on this, see our Help article.
  2. Using a bulk upload, assign a remarketing list to your group(s). See below for details on what to include in the bulk upload.
  3. Using a bulk upload once again, assign a remarketing list as an exclusion to your original group(s). This will ensure that you do not compete against yourself in the auction for those keywords.
  4. Create a bidding folder in the Platform for your RLSA campaigns and add the new groups to this folder.
  5. Set the folder to Traffic/Preview to have the Platform begin pushing bids for these keywords.
  6. The Platform will now optimize bids for the new campaign at the keyword level, to ensure the best bids are found for each keyword as per the people in your remarketing list.

Note: If your remarketing list has been created in the publisher but has not been assigned to a Campaign or Group, it will not be synced into Marin.

Remarketing lists for Display campaigns

You can also use remarketing lists with Display campaigns. To add a remarketing list to a Display campaign, just follow the process outlined above. Again we recommend using the Target and Bid strategy.

Bulk upload columns

In order to assign your remarketing lists in bulk, you will need to include the following columns in your bulk sheet. Columns shown in [brackets] are optional.

  • Account
  • Campaign
  • Group
  • Remarketing List
  • [Status]
  • [Bid Adjustment]
  • [Max. CPC]
  • [Destination URL]

Note: Max. CPC and Destination URL are applicable for display groups only.

Remarketing List Exclusions

  • Account
  • Campaign
  • [Group]
  • Remarketing List
  • [Status]

Note: if you do not include Group, the Platform will assume the assignment is at the campaign level when uploading exclusions. The Status column values can be either Excluded or Deleted; if not provided, the default is Excluded. Note that groups are required when adding lists.

Additional notes

  • Note that the creation of remarketing lists is carried out on the publisher's end and synced to the application. You cannot create the lists within the Platform at this time. The application will only sync in Google remarketing lists when they're applied at the group level 
  • You can sync down remarketing lists and view them in the grid.
  • Lists can be bulk uploaded via FTP using the prefix groupRetargetList_
  • Excluded remarketing lists can be managed in bulk only. They are visible in the Negatives grid.
  • Cost metrics are not available for remarketing lists.
  • Single/multi-edit is not available for remarketing lists at this time.
  • Nightly sync will not update your remarketing lists. To do so, you'll need to perform a hard sync.
  • You need to wait overnight before you can bulk add/edit remarketing list assignments in the Platform for a newly created list. If you don't do this, the process will fail because the Platform will not be able to recognize this new list.
  • The Platform does not support bulk add/edit assignments for lists that share the same name (for example, if you have shared lists in your Google account such as All Visitors). You will need to do this within AdWords.
  • Target and Bid causes Google to only show the ads when both the keyword and the remarketing list match. As opposed to Bid only where Google will show you ads when a keyword matches (regardless of whether the remarketing list matches). For more information on Target and Bid versus Bid only, please refer to this Google Support article.

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

 

wiki.page("Internal/Mindtouch_Launch_Sandbox/js.cookie.js")