Welcome!
Welcome to the Marin Software Support Center. We're glad you're here. Here's what you can look forward to:
  • Real-time search so you can find what you need faster than ever.
  • Easy-to-follow video guides for our most popular articles.
  • Interactive simulations and Live Screenshots to make learning easy.
  • Regular content updates to ensure every word you read is accurate and up-to-date.
Home > English > Your Marin Account > Syncing > How To Articles: Syncing > Performing a Manual Sync ("Hard Sync")

Performing a Manual Sync ("Hard Sync")

Introduction

A manual sync (also referred to as a hard sync) is a process that can be used to bring any changes you have made to your publisher accounts into the Marin platforms.

In this article, we'll walk you through how to perform a manual sync in both MarinOne and Marin Search.

Note: A manual sync will not push any changes to the publisher, it will only bring changes in from the publisher. 

Step-By-Step Guide


After making steps on the publisher’s end, follow these steps to perform a manual sync (hard sync). 

MarinOne

 

  1. The first step, as always, is to log into MarinOne. 
     
  2. Determine at which level you would like your sync to take place. Hard syncs can be done at the campaign or group level in the Search and eCommerce modules, or at the campaign, ad set, or ad level in the Social module.

    Note: In the Social module, the sync functionality only works for Facebook at the current time; we plan to roll out this functionality to other publishers in the future. 

    We recommend narrowing your sync down to the most granular level possible in order to reduce the amount of time your sync takes. For example, rather than syncing an entire campaign, you can instead sync a few specific groups in order to avoid kicking off a sync for groups that may not need to be synced. 
     
  3. Once you've determined at which level you would like your sync to take place, navigate to the corresponding tab. 
     
  4. Select the check-boxes next to the campaigns or groups that you would like to sync. You can select one or multiple objects, depending on where you would like the sync to take place. 
     
  5. Click the Sync button (‘circle with arrow’ icon)sy1.png

    New objects and ‘child’ objects (objects lower in the account hierarchy than where the sync takes place) will be brought into the platform from the publisher as well as those objects’ settings changes. 

    This button exists in the MarinOne Search, Social, and eCommerce modules, but there are a few specific considerations to keep in mind for Social.

    In the Social module, this button operates the same as the Download From Publisher button in the Marin Social platform. It does not perform a push from Marin to the publisher. We'll talk more about the caveats and considerations about this in the Facebook Hard Sync section later in this article.
     
  6. Click Apply.
     

    sy2.png


     
  7. The Activity Log (accessible from the ‘bell’ icon in the top-right of the platform) will indicate when the task is complete. Processing time will depending on the size and number of objects being synced. 

Facebook Hard Sync

In this section, we'll walk through a few items that are specific to Facebook when it comes to performing a sync.

Please note that in the Social module, the Sync button operates the same as the Download From Publisher button in the Marin Social platform. It does not perform a push from Marin to the publisher. 

What Data Does The Platform Download? 

When the Sync icon is clicked, the following will occur to the selected campaigns, ad sets, or ads:

  1. Any local changes not synced to Facebook which were made to the campaign, ad set, or ad in the Marin Social Platform will be erased and overridden according to the state the objects are in Facebook.
     

  2. Any newly created ad sets or ads in Facebook will be downloaded into the Marin Social Platform.

 

Note: The Sync button will bring in new objects within existing campaigns as well as any settings changes made on the publisher side. It will not import new campaigns and it does not import metrics into existing campaigns. To learn more about the additional import options available within Marin Social, check out our Facebook Import for Marin Social article.
 

Previously imported campaigns that are marked unsupported due to a Marin Social Platform limitation will be corrected if the limitation no longer exists.

For example:

  • A campaign with flexible targeting is imported into the Platform when the feature was not supported.
  • Imported campaign is marked unsupported because flexible targeting is not supported.
  • Platform rollouts support for flexible targeting.
  • User clicks Sync for the unsupported campaign and when download is complete, the campaign is fully supported.

Marin Search

How To Sync Groups

  1. To sync individual groups, navigate to any Groups tab and check the box to the left of one (or multiple) groups that you wish to sync.
  2. Click Sync Groups ('two arrows in a circle’ icon) along the top or bottom of the grid. In the bubble that pops up, click SyncNote: This option will only be available for Google, Microsoft, and Yahoo! Japan accounts.
  3. New Groups and ‘child’ objects (i.e. keywords and creatives) will now be brought into the Platform from the publisher, as well as any of those objects' setting changes that need to be updated in the Platform. All keywords, with or without clicks, will also be brought in.
  4. The Activity Log (accessible by clicking Admin in the upper-right) provides a notification when the task has been completed. Processing time is dependent upon the number and size of the groups. 

Note: You can monitor the status of your sync using the Status bar in the upper right hand corner of any page.

How To Sync Entire Campaigns

  1. To sync campaigns, go to the main Channels tab and click the Manage Accounts button above the Account column. If you are using the Smart Sync Channels tab, click on the Plus button above the grid.
  2. Click on the account of the campaign(s) to be synced.
  3. Select the Campaigns tab.
  4. Tick the boxes next to the campaigns that you want to sync and then click the Sync button in the top right (looks like two arrows in a circle).
  5. Campaigns and ‘child’ objects (groups, creatives, keywords) will be brought into the Platform from the publisher, as well as any of the objects' setting changes that need to be updated in the Platform.
  6. As with groups, the Activity Log (accessible by clicking Admin in the upper-right) will provide a notification when the task has been completed. Processing time is dependent upon the size of the campaigns (i.e. total number of groups and keywords).

Note: You can monitor the status of your sync using the Status bar in the upper right hand corner of any page.  

Additional Information

  • Sync updates will only change an object's attributes or settings (keyword, campaign, creative, group); metrics are not changed. If the metrics within the Platform do not match those in the publisher interface, contact our Support Services department for assistance.
  • For more information on the difference between the automated nightly sync and the Manual Sync, please refer to this help article on Synchronizing Data With The Publisher.
  • In keeping with Marin's best practices, we advise against making any edits to objects that are in the process of syncing until after the sync is complete. This includes bid changes, URL changes, and status changes.
  • We advise against creating new objects inside a parent object that is in the process of syncing.  For example, if you have a campaign that is in the process of syncing, we would advise against creating a new ad group that lives inside of the syncing campaign until the sync process is complete. If this happens, new objects that live within those syncing campaigns might be incorrectly deleted or marked as invalid.
  • Making changes to your URL Builder settings during a sync process is not recommended, as it may result in inconsistent tracking settings.
  • If you generate a report in the middle of a manual sync, it may or nay not show the synced version of all objects. For this reason, it is best to wait until the sync is complete to report on these objects.

 

Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

 

wiki.page("Internal/Mindtouch_Launch_Sandbox/js.cookie.js")