Welcome!
Welcome to the Marin Software Support Center. We're glad you're here. Here's what you can look forward to:
  • Real-time search so you can find what you need faster than ever.
  • Easy-to-follow video guides for our most popular articles.
  • Interactive simulations and Live Screenshots to make learning easy.
  • Regular content updates to ensure every word you read is accurate and up-to-date.

Managing Campaigns

Home > English > Managing Campaigns > Keywords, Creatives, and Campaigns > How To Articles: Keywords, Creatives & Campaigns > Modifying Deleted Objects

Modifying Deleted Objects

Introduction

When attempting to modify or re-activate certain objects within the Platform, you may encounter the following error (or variation thereof):
 

Keyword/Creative/Group/Campaign has been deleted and can not be modified.

 

This error occurs when trying to edit or create objects that have been deleted in the past either in the Platform or the Publisher.

Objects that can be undeleted

The following table outlines which objects can be undeleted in both the Platform and the AdWords interface:

Object

Our Platform

AdWords

Keywords

NO, but you can change the capitalization of a keyword since the Platform is case sensitive.*

 

YES. Keywords that had data will show here as deleted  and can be reactivated.

Keywords that had no data and have been deleted will not show up here at all, but you can re-add these back without incurring a duplicate error.

Creatives

NO

NO

Groups

NO

NO

Campaigns

NO

NO, but it is possible to add a new campaign with the exact same name as a deleted campaign. For these campaigns, AdWords will generate a new publisher ID. Take note, however, that this can lead syncing problems in Marin, as Marin will see an identical campaign name with a different publisher ID.

Once you have either reactivated or re-added the 'deleted' keyword within AdWords, perform a manual sync on this campaign in the Platform. This will then update the 'deleted' keyword within the Platform to either Active or Paused (depending on the status that was made in AdWords).

Note: This may cause attribution issues if you are using creative level only tracking using keyword/match type parameters to attribute data to the keyword level.

Undeletion with Microsoft

Please note that Microsoft does not currently allow the retrieval of deleted objects, however new keywords, creatives, groups and campaigns can be re-created in Microsoft Ads with the same name.

Additional information

  • Editing an ad in AdWords will be considered as a new ad by Google. This will result in the same ad to be deleted in the Platform and a new one to be created. Once this occurs, any latent revenue and cost data will be attributed to the keyword or group.
     
  • Deleted objects can still receive attribution from latent conversion data, but not cost data.
Last modified

Tags

Classifications

This page has no classifications.

 

wiki.page("Internal/Mindtouch_Launch_Sandbox/js.cookie.js")